The river at my backyard

The river at my backyard is so well known…the Kiulu river. Everyday this river is visited by people from all over the world for white water rafting experience. Unfortunately, not everyone knows about the villagers that work hard in keeping the river clean and fruitful to those living nearby.

- The Tourists -

Sometimes ago, I began to take pictures of the river, the activities around the river and how the people of my own kampung look after the river. The shots were mostly for record purposes and most of them are published in my Facebook account for photography tips purposes…but the pictures were taken to express the story that I really want others to see.

- split photography with waterproof casing -

I guess, there are people out there who noticed the story in the picture I took. So, one day a media friend dropped by and requested permission to write about Kampung Poturidong and to publish the pictures I took in a national papers. I am humbled by the publication because I know it is not easy to get such huge publicity to the potential of Kg. Poturidong. 

- swimming with fishes -

So, when I read the write up about my beloved birthplace and saw the pictures I took on national newspaper…I am deeply honoured but most of all I felt that I have given back something to the place that means a lot to the villagers along the Kiulu River. On another level, I am happy because now others will know the story of Kg. Poturidong, Kiulu – the people and the river. I guess it is true when people say…a picture paints a thousand words.

- Places - New Sunday Times - Jul 17, 2011 -

- Places - New Sunday Times - Jul 17, 2011 -

p/s just in case you guys are looking for it online 🙂

http://www.nst.com.my/nst/articles/17fishsy-2/Article

Till then, have a wonderful weekend everyone.

About lano lan

A freelance photographer with 5 years experience in photography. Familiar with local culture in Malaysia and has vast experience in capturing moments in any local event particularly in Sabah. As a full time photographer, I am also familiar and able to take advantage of the local climate condition. In other words, rain or shine, there is always a chance of capturing lights in action.
This entry was posted in A story and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The river at my backyard

  1. Azizul Julirin says:

    Bangga sa baca tu news sifu. keep up a good work 🙂

Leave a Reply

