Because you trust me

So…anyone miss me? 😀

Sorry for not being able to post anything new for the past few weeks, I was a bit preoccupied. Hopefully, you all still remember me. 🙂

Many asked me why my basic photography class is called an ‘I trust you’ session…well, the answer is simple, because you have to trust that Lano Lan is capable to help you to in your first step into photography and that Lano Lan knows what he is talking about.

So, for those who will trust me soon, here is a glimpse on how you and I will go through the ‘trusting process’…

Basically, my tutorial will start with something that will bore you to death. At this stage, you will (like it or not) have to listen to my mumbling on the camera technology and I would basically drill your head to understand all the important functions available in your camera, such as shutter, aperture, ISO, focal length and white balance button. And my mumbling on them will cover the technology behind it up to what contribution do they play to your photo.  However, sorry to say, this is the part where you have to pay a lot of attention because this is the foundation for your journey of taking good photo. Trust me, on this.

- my mumbling season -

The next stage will cover the ‘field trip’ where you need to practice what I have just told you in the ‘mumbling stage’. This is where as Surie Aziz says the test of ‘ujian tinggi langit dan bumi‘ of your photography skill. However, do not fear, because I will be there to guide you and if you have been paying attention, you will get that good photo on that very first shot. Once again, trust me on this.

- dealing with the "lubang" -

But of course, before I let you go, you need to go for a series of test. Not for you to be graded or for me to tell you you pass or not. It is for us ( you and I) ‘to come into agreement’ on what we share during the first and second session. Basically, I give you the compo and you will have to execute the technical judgement. Don’t worry, if you don’t get it on the first try, I will only advice you until you get the judgement correct. The test will cover your judgement on high contrast area, judgement for sunset or sunrise and judgement for compensation purposes. You will never fail. On that, you have to trust me.

- metering simulation for sunset / sunrise -

Lastly, before the session ends and before we bid farewell, you will have to pay me for the session :-). This however, is a matter that I have never highlighted before in my facebook or here in my blog. The fact for the RM150 is that it is only paid to me once. Which means, if you ever wish to come and join me again to refresh your knowledge or just to have a chit chat with me or to ‘belanja‘ me coffee…you are welcome to join me again. For free. This is a guarantee. For this, you have no choice but to trust me.

- simulation on how the shutter effect your photo optically -

- for those outside KK - they will miss the "lubang" - here in Tambunan, they deal on the "Gua" 🙂 - a simulation for dark metering

- the Tasik Kompleks Sukan Likas infamous lubang -

p/s The guarantee however is only applicable for the tutorial session 🙂 As for my other photography activities…well, that is a whole different story.

About lano lan

A freelance photographer with 5 years experience in photography. Familiar with local culture in Malaysia and has vast experience in capturing moments in any local event particularly in Sabah. As a full time photographer, I am also familiar and able to take advantage of the local climate condition. In other words, rain or shine, there is always a chance of capturing lights in action.
This entry was posted in Basic Photography Tutorial and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

