To judge or not to judge…that is a photographer’s choice

Hi all,

Have been a  bit busy lately, a lot of things to write but I just don’t know how to put them into words but I’ll try, the best I could.

Last week during my short visit to Labuan by the road side near Menumbuk I saw this bird by the road side, well I am not really into birding but since the bird is within my 200mm reach I decided to take a few shot and experiment on the camera metering for sharing purpose. As aperture priority is among photographer’s favorite when DOF or sharpness is their concern so I set my camera at aperture priority for the shots. I guess this time I try to trust my camera metering by letting the camera decide on the exposure, so here is the result..

Aperture Priority ( Camera decide)

Aperture Priority and the camera decide on the exposure - i guess the camera give me flat look on the capture

However, since I know that the camera metering system will simply be fooled or tricked by dark bird’s background, as the camera suggest the exposure, giving me the picture above. So, to counter this situation, I lock the exposure and compensate to correct exposure on fly to get my 2nd shot as below  which was what I wanted.

Aperture Priority and the photographer decide on the exposure

Both images exposure are as in camera capture, and I guess understanding how your camera respond to light with the in-camera metering guidance will save a lot of time and will speed up your learning curve in digital photography, and as for me the 1st thing you should learn and understand to get desired exposure is “metering”.

Oh, I don’t want you to get confuse, is metering an advance feature in photography? My friends, people won’t get rich if they sell something too complicated so I guess it is the most basic things that every photographer should learn and understand before other things.. why? I guess it is the guide for you to control light to imitate what your eyes see and to capture on your sensor later.

Oh well, that is all for tonight my friends, good night happy shooting and have a safe outing 🙂

Until then, Kopisanangan do dongotuong. 

About lano lan

A freelance photographer with 5 years experience in photography. Familiar with local culture in Malaysia and has vast experience in capturing moments in any local event particularly in Sabah. As a full time photographer, I am also familiar and able to take advantage of the local climate condition. In other words, rain or shine, there is always a chance of capturing lights in action.
This entry was posted in My one cents thought and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to To judge or not to judge…that is a photographer’s choice

  1. Japrin says:

    This post is really ‘bagus!’.. 🙂 Thanks for sharing Lano.. 🙂

  2. Slyverinus Malanjun says:

    terima kasih sifu tentang penjelasan bagaimana mengawal cahaya apabila mengambil gambar dalam keadaan sedemikian.Untuk mendapatkan gambar yang terang seperti gambar di atas yang kedua..perlukan kita kurangkan cahaya masuk dalam lens atau bagaimana sifu..(Metering decreased or increased). TQ

Leave a Reply

