Going beyond the pretty smile.

Norikot nodi bulan lima… ( John Gaisah is a classic! ) Finally, May is here. It is a month that means a lot to the Dusun community, so I like to wish everyone Kopisanangan do Tadau Kaamatan (Happy Harvest Festival) may it brings you more prosperity, joy and happiness to you and family.

Speaking of Ka’amatan, it will be a busy month for those into photography. There are too many to capture…magagung, moginum, sugandoi…and of course the crème de la crème, the center of attraction…seeking for Huminodun or better known as Unduk Ngadau. But…if you want to know the legend of the Dusun Princess, you need to Google it cause I might give you a different version of the legend 🙂 .

So, to make it up to you, I share with you the story of Unduk Ngadau Competition for Inanam District. Last week, Lumix organized a photography workshop for all photographers at Tg. Aru first beach and all the beautiful Inanam Unduk Ngadau participants became the models ( it was also to crown the Miss Photogenic). In support for the event, more than 200 photographers turn up to learn a few photography tricks from the guru himself, C.V. Chong, and a few other established photographers.

As I always mentioned, when it comes to portraiture…it is something that I am struggling with sometimes. However, I always give it my best effort when I have the chance and one thing that I always keep in mind, when it comes to shooting models, communication plays an important role. It creates that one moment that only you and your model share privately…and that ‘look’ or ‘smile’ that you want from them. As for me, I like to play with the natural lights on the models…they are naughty, playful, shy and even stubborn ( the natural lights I mean 🙂 ). I only took a few shots of the ladies on that day, I spent most of my time enjoying their beauties with my naked eyes instead :D. So…given the models and lights, here are some of the soon- to- be -crowned Huminodun…in natural lights.

Her dimple, makes me wish she never stop smiling...at me. 🙂

She has a sincere smile...as a princess should be.

and yes they smile all the way.. and I guess thats the essence of Ka'amatan ~ being happy

Yes I got the smile but as photographer I should have asked her to put her tissue aside before taking her photo.. poor me 🙂

That it is for tonight tompinai, hopefully my mumbling will be useful to you.  Kopisanangan do Tadau Kaamatan om Kopisanangan do dongotuong, good nite 🙂

About lano lan

A freelance photographer with 5 years experience in photography. Familiar with local culture in Malaysia and has vast experience in capturing moments in any local event particularly in Sabah. As a full time photographer, I am also familiar and able to take advantage of the local climate condition. In other words, rain or shine, there is always a chance of capturing lights in action.
This entry was posted in My one cents thought and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

