Thanks for the trust.. PPIB UMS

Monday, Dec, 20th, 2010

It is a bright and sunny day, the kind of day that I usually would spend like this,  walking behind my house, looking for frogs behind the lotus plant or disturbing some insects doing their ‘business’ …but not today.

Today, I have ‘I trust you session’ and it is a special arrangement by a few faculty staffs and lecturers of UMS. Not at my usual playground but at their big Pusat Penataraan Ilmu dan Bahasa…and they have rostrum. A good looking rostrum…the last time I had to stand behind one was to present my final year thesis in 1995. I am thinking that some professors or ministers must have given speech behind it before and today Lano Lan is going to use it. I am nervous as hell and just can’t imagine myself giving a formal speech.

Just to make sure my camera is working as I wanted.. a point and shot outside the conference room before I start the session - is it a sunny day? 🙂

I was still wondering how to present myself in front of these academia when they call me up. As I was greeting all the participants…I then decided to just be Lano Lan and deliver the tutorial as I always do at my usual playground . As trust is a privilege, not a right, I must deliver my best whenever there is anyone who trust me.. and today these UMS crowd will be getting all the double meaning terms that I just like to use. 🙂

Between the rostrum and their wish to see my works...I got so damn nervous

The first session was conducted at the faculty conference room, for those who have been to my tutorial at Tasik Likas, this session is the same as the morning session under the shade by the kiddies playground. Oh but, before I bore them with my mumbling, the participants did asked me to show some of my previous work (thankfully, I did prepare on that..phew) unfortunately that made me more nervous. After that, then, they allow me to cover the knowledge on the idea behind camera physically and functions of every button on the camera.

Now you should know why I am nervous 🙂

I guess he is about to understand what is written/shown on the view finder.. the f value.. the shutter value.. the metering.. etc.. 🙂

For the second session, which is the practical session, we go down to ODEC and practice what we have learnt earlier (too bad they don’t have my favourite ‘lubang’ here) but, I manged to look for substitute.

It is time to put the theory into practice

Guys & ladies... you must know how you get it.. and no magic please 🙂

When it turns out to 90% overexpose, don't simply claim it as an art, unless you purposely do it.. he..he.. ( Was merely trying to share my one cent joke 🙂 )

As for the ‘lubang’ (hole)…this is the best substitute I can find, same concept just a different subject.

I can't find "lubang" here in ODEC but the black chair would be best replacement.. as shown here.. set at Aperture priority.. and shot.. the camera metering simply being fool by the dark subject same as the "lubang" in Tasik Kompleks Sukan Likas

Using same setting as previous photo... and if you understand how your camera metering works.. it is just a simple "point", "lock & compensate" to get desired exposure on your very 1st shot..

[Friends, I would like to explain more on this tips, but I guess it will spoil the story but no worries, I will write on the particular topic and tips of ‘lubang’…soon :-)]

The session went well till the end and I hope the participants managed to get something out of my mumbling. As for me, I am deeply honoured for the trust…no, that did not come out right…what I really want to say is, it does not matter who I am or who you are because no mater what, trust is a privilege, not a right. I am humbled for the opportunity given.

Last but not least, deepest gratitude to my partner in crime Mr. Ramdan Nain for being my co-tutor along the session, and all photos without watermark were taken by him… thank you tompinai  🙂

Until then guys, take care.

About lano lan

A freelance photographer with 5 years experience in photography. Familiar with local culture in Malaysia and has vast experience in capturing moments in any local event particularly in Sabah. As a full time photographer, I am also familiar and able to take advantage of the local climate condition. In other words, rain or shine, there is always a chance of capturing lights in action.
This entry was posted in A story and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Thanks for the trust.. PPIB UMS

  1. Maverick Anat says:

    Nice one… again… sir… Hehe… It’s seems a lot of people trusted u. Keep up ur good work sir… and don’t forget the “lubang”… 🙂

  2. Dolly MJ says:

    Walawehhh!! kalau sia kana suruh, pingsan suda ni Lan. Congrats! & to your ging too. 😉

  3. Ruslinah Idzsang says:

    Wah …it’s really nice to hear this…. means you’re good …all the best to you …hope to see you again here in Tawau…mau minta ajar cara ambil startrail ni …long exposure… banyak mau tanya ni …

Leave a Reply

